LP Gas Licenses for RV Dispensing & Repair
LP Gas Licenses for RV Businesses in Florida – Overview
The Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (FDACS) is responsible for licensing individuals and businesses that sell, transport, dispense or store liquefied petroleum (LP) gas and that manufacturer, install, service or repair LP gas containers, systems, or appliances. FDACS inspects facilities where LP gas is sold or stored and investigates accidents involving LP gas or equipment.
It is important to understand the requirements to avoid penalties from the state’s auditing process. You can expect the following possible penalty as an example:
- Civil Penalties not to exceed $25,000 for each violation for each day that such violation persists. See Rule: 527.06 found in the Liquified Petroleum Laws and Rules (October 2020 Edition)
The business must purchase a license from the state to get started. Click here to understand the different LP Gas license categories in our state. Each category has its own application along with the cost of the business license. (1yr / 2yr / 3yr license terms)
- The license application will dictate whether you are required to have a Master Qualifier and/or Qualifier based on your selection.
- Click here to read more about the state requirements for the Qualifier and Master Qualifier.
- In order to apply for certification as a Master Qualifier, each applicant must have a minimum of 3 years of verifiable LP gas experience or hold a professional certification by an LP gas manufacturer as adopted by the department rule immediately preceding submission of the application.
- The state will accept the certificate of completion of RVTI Level 1 through Level 2 training, NRVTA’s Registered / Advanced / Master RV Service Technician training OR RV Tech Training Center as the professional certification.
- Verifiable work experience shall include work with a liquified petroleum gas company where the applicant performed activities that fall within one or more of the following areas:
- Maintenance of gas facilities and equipment.
- Gas storage and distribution facility operations and safety.
- Gas transportation, delivery, product transfer.
- Gas tanks, cylinders, and equipment.
- Gas liquid and vapor distribution systems and equipment.
- Gas equipment and appliance services, installation, and repair.
- Attach a copy of their professional certification or a letter from their employer stating their experience upon submission of the license application.
- YOU MUST provide proof of LP Gas Insurance along with the license application. Click here to review the LP Gas Insurance Affidavit form.
- Training is required for ALL EMPLOYEES whether they are qualifiers, and refresher training must be conducted at 3 year intervals. Documentation must be retained on business files.
Frequently Asked Questions:
- How do I look up a business to check if they have an active license in the state of Florida? Click Here.
- How do I sign up for the Master Qualifier or Qualifier exam?
Click on the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services website. Create a login or use your previous login credentials.
- What textbooks do I need for the LP Gas Master Qualifier or Qualifier exam?
Purchase the Category 1, 3, 4, 5 and 6 exam materials (Package Price) Click Here.
Books can be purchased separately: Click on the title for the price.
2020 NFPA 58
2018 NFPA 54
2018 NFPA 1192
Safe Dispensing Manual
FREE Download! 2020 Liquified Petroleum (LP) Laws and Rules for the state of Florida.
- What should I expect to see on the Master Qualifier or Qualifier exam?
Click here to review the LP Gas Exam Expectations.
Click her to review the Testing Topics by Category.
- Recertification for a Qualifier or Master Qualifier is required every 3 years. Where can I find courses that meet the state’s requirements?
As a FRVTA member benefit, you can earn up to 12 CEU’s towards the 16 CEU’s required for recertification. To access the free training subscribe to www.RVDLN.org using the subscription form here.
We offer 3 online courses that covers the content you will need for continuing education. You will earn 4 CEU’s for each completed course.
You will find the courses under Subscriber Resources/Industry Resources/Service Training/Click on the FRVTA logo/Click on the watch videos link under the Florida LP Gas section.
- Is the state sending out the annual LP Gas License renewal form?
Yes, renewal notices will go out as usual. Since the new RV licenses and certifications are more limited in scope, those seeking to convert to an RV-specific license or certification will need to submit the application for an RV-specific license or certification, rather than renewing the license(s) or certification currently held. However, individuals who hold current Category 1 qualifier or master qualifier certifications will not have to sit for a new exam if they choose to make the switch to an RV-specific certification.
- Do you need to convert to the new Category 1 LP Gas RV Dealer (LR) license if you purchased the standard 3-year Category 1 LP Gas Dealer (LG) license prior to 2021?
Dealers in this situation should contact the Department’s Bureau of Compliance for further instructions if they wish to convert their current license(s) to a Cat. 1 – RV license. The phone number for the LP Gas department is (850) 921-1600.
- Can a master qualifier be anyone of my choice?
The master qualifier must be a manager, owner, or someone otherwise primarily responsible for overseeing the operations of the licensed location and must provide documentation to FDACS.
- My Master Qualifier left the dealership, now what?
Per Section 527.0201 Florida Statute; Extension of Time to Fill Master Qualifier Vacancy;
The time granted under Section 527.0201(6)(b), Florida Statutes, for any category I or category V licensee to replace its duly designated master qualifier when that person is no longer working for the business organization is extended from 60 days to 90 days when the business organization still employs a licensed qualifier. Nothing in this Order alters or suspends the reporting requirements set forth in Section 527.0201(6), Florida Statutes. A vacancy in a master qualifier position in a business organization which results from the departure of the master qualifier shall be immediately reported to the department by the departing master qualifier and the licensed company.
The extensions of time set forth in this section (§ 3) apply only to those vacancies reported to the Department prior to the expiration of the state of emergency declared in Executive Order 20-52 and extended by Executive Orders 20-114, 20-166, or any subsequent extension, issued by the Governor of the State of Florida. Vacancies reported to the Department following the expiration of the state of emergency declared in Executive Order 20-52 and extended by Executive Orders 20-114, 20-166, or any subsequent extension, must be filled in accordance with Section 527.0201(6)(b), Florida Statutes.
If a master qualifier vacancy is not filled in accordance with the terms of this Order, the business organization’s license shall be suspended by order of the Department.
- My Qualifier left the dealership, now what?
Per Section 527.0201, Florida Statutes; Extension of Time to Fill a Qualifier Vacancy;
The time granted under Section 527.0201(6)(a), Florida Statutes, for a business organization to replace its duly designated qualifier when that person is no longer working for the business organization is extended from 20 days to 60 days. If a business organization no longer possesses a duly designated qualifier but employs a licensed master qualifier who is willing and able to perform the duties associated with the vacated qualifier position in addition to his or her own, the business organization shall have 90 days to fill the qualifier vacancy. If a category II licensee no longer possesses a duly designated qualifier, the business organization shall have 90 days to fill the qualifier vacancy if its liquefied petroleum gas supplier agrees to provide a licensed qualifier or master qualifier to take on the duties and responsibilities associated with the category II licensee’s vacant qualifier position. A person acting as a qualifier for one category I licensee and one category II licensee in accordance with this paragraph and all other applicable terms of this Order shall not be deemed to be acting in violation of Section 527.0201 (2)(b ), Florida Statutes. Nothing in this Order alters or suspends the reporting requirements set forth in Section 527.0201(6), Florida Statutes. A vacancy in a qualifier position in a business organization which results from the departure of the qualifier shall be immediately reported to the department by the departing qualifier and the licensed company. The extensions of time set forth in this section (§ 2) apply only to those vacancies reported to the Department prior to the expiration of the state of emergency declared in Executive Order 20-52 and extended by Executive Orders 20-114, 20-166, or any subsequent extension, issued by the Governor of the State of Florida. Vacancies reported to the Department following the expiration of the state of emergency declared in Executive Order 20-52 and extended by Executive Orders 20-114, 20-166, or any subsequent extension, must be filled in accordance with Section 527.0201(6)(a), Florida Statutes. If a qualifier vacancy is not filled in accordance with the terms of this Order, the business organization’s license shall be suspended by order of the Department.
- How many unqualified technicians are covered by my Qualifier or Master Qualifier?
For every 9 unqualified technicians you MUST have one (1) Qualifier (the Qualifier is considered the 10th technician).
- What if I am a “Mobile” business (technician)?
As a “Mobile” business you MUST apply for the state LP Gas License and you MUST meet the states Master Qualifier requirements prior to sitting for the “Master Qualifier“ exam. Read the “Overview” section at the top of this page.
- As a “Mobile” business – Do all my technicians need to be qualified?
Yes. The “Master Qualifier or the Qualifier” does not travel with the unqualified technician to each job site.
- As part of the LP Gas Category I Dealer License Application, you must submit proof of insurance or bond. Do I need to add a certificate holder on the Certificate of Liability Insurance (COI) document?
Yes. It is a division policy that the Certificate of Liability Insurance (COI) is completed to include the certificate holder as FDACS to ensure the state is notified if the policy cancels prior to expiration per 527.04 .
Use the following information for the Certificate Holder section:
Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services (FDACS)
Bureau of LP Gas
2005 Apalachee Parkway
Tallahassee, FL 32399
- What do I need to do if the insurance coverage as required by this subsection is canceled or otherwise terminated?
The insurer must notify the FDACS department within 30 days after the cancellation or termination. There are other alternatives in lieu of the insurance policy, eg. bond, or an affidavit that can be completed and submitted as well. The company should reach out to the state to discuss the other alternatives.
- What should I do if the Consumers do not understand the importance of using a Florida licensed Mobile business for their LP Gas service/repair?
The consumer should review the legal guidelines here.
- As a Mobile technician; what do I need to do to notify the state regarding a technician who claims to have a LP Gas license in the state but is repairing RVs without a license and putting the consumer(s) in danger.
Technicians that are finding the issues can use the online consumer complaint form, select LP GAS from the drop down menu and describe in detail the situation in the following field. “Explain your complaint, describing the events in the order which they occurred.”
To remain anonymous the person making the complaint can write in the box under person making complaint “anonymous” in all fields. They can also state they would like to remain anonymous when calling in a complaint at 1-800-HELP-FLA. (1-800-435-7352)
- Where do I take the state exam?
The Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services is utilizing ProMetric as their third-party testing agent to provide LP Gas testing year-round at 22 locations around the State for your convenience.
To get started, login to Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, pay application fee of $20 for Qualifier or $30 for Master Qualifier. When selecting the third-party testing facility (ProMetric), choose “authorized agent” option when completing the state application. Once the application is received, you will be entered into a third-party testing website by FDACS staff. You will receive an email from the third-party testing facility to complete the exam signup. You will then choose the preferred location and pay the additional $69 fee for the exam.
FDACS will provide onsite testing at the following location (upon opening offices to the public):
Terry Rhodes Building H
2005 Apalachee Pkwy.
Tallahassee, FL 32399
- What should I expect from the third-party testing provider?
After the candidates have registered for the state exam, the pre-registration letter will be sent to the email address provided.
See the sample email below.
You have now been approved by |ClientName| to make an appointment to sit for your examination. Please proceed as follows:
1 — Go to our home page: www.IQTTesting.com
2 — Using the option “Exam Registration”
Enter your UserID and Password to login. These are:
3 –Select the Organization: |ContractName|.
Select the exam: |ExamName|
After logging in, please follow the on-screen instructions for making an appointment.
Please note that you must test within this date range: |BeginDate| to |EndDate|.
Reschedule/Cancellation Policy: If you fail to show up for your examination at the scheduled time, do not have the proper identification, or do not have your admission document, you will not be allowed to sit for your exam. You will be considered a “No-Show”, your examination fees will be forfeited, and you will be required to re-register and pay all fees prior to sitting for the exam. However, if an issue arises that prohibits you from making it to your scheduled exam, you may reschedule prior to (5) calendar days before your scheduled exam date. You may be required to pay a rescheduling fee to process your request. If it is less than (5) calendar days, you will not be allowed to cancel or reschedule your exam unless one of the following 4 situations have occurred:
Death in the immediate family
The immediate family is defined as a person’s grandparents, parents, spouses, siblings and children.
If you experience any of the above, you MUST provide IQT with proper documentation before being rescheduled to a new date. If none of the above are the reason for wanting to reschedule or cancel your exam less than 5 days prior to your exam date, then you will not be allowed to reschedule or cancel your exam. Please also note that if you do not show up, you will be considered a “No-Show”, your examination fees will be forfeited, and you will be required to re-register and pay all fees prior to sitting for the exam.
Result Letter: Please note that you MUST receive a result letter after completing the exam. Please do not leave the testing center until this has been given to you by the Proctor.
Should you require assistance, you can click on the “Contact Us” Tab on the Iso-Quality Testing, Inc. home page (www.isoqualitytesting.com ) and send a message to customer service, or you may call (toll-free in USA and Canada) 1-866-773-1114, or (other countries) +1 727-733-1110.
Iso-Quality Testing, Inc.
- How do I register for the 2023 Propane Safety School (Monday, May 15th – Friday, 19th) with the Florida Propane Gas Association? Click here for Registration Form
- What should I expect to learn at the Propane Safety School?
Click here for agenda